Happy thoughts …

Since visiting the National Art Gallery in Washington D.C. last month, I really have been digging pop artist Jim Dine’s work. His 16-foot charcoal and canvas “Name Painting” (a portion of it is below) inspired my “Happy Thoughts” piece (above), which combines the objects and ideas that make my husband Alex, my son Kai and me the happiest, such as fancy cheese, cheap airfare and pirates. Dine’s work is gritty, raw and resembles Santa’s naughty list, which I really like. But this is the first time I’ve worked with charcoal and I was a bit nervous, so I played it safe. Plus I’m in a pretty safe place in my life right now and it feels good to be neat and clean. Soon though, I’d like to mess around with the medium a bit more, so I can become more adventurous and show a bit of my darker side.

Name Painting (1935-1963) #1, 1968-1969 charcoal on unsized canvas.

Dine also has a another piece that is rousing me lately – and may inspire some future artwork. Check it out …

Jim Dine - Hearts, 1970

8 responses to “Happy thoughts …

  1. Pingback: Color splash … « … welcome to my world …

  2. Pingback: Free as a bird … « … welcome to my world …

  3. Pingback: She steals seashells … « … eco, art and travel: a modern mom's blog …

  4. Pingback: Art project: colorful recycled magazine shadowbox art … « … eco, art and travel: a modern mom's blog …

  5. Pingback: Art project: colorful recycled magazine shadowbox art … « … eco, art and travel: a modern mom's blog …

  6. Pingback: 5 inspiring art pieces found at MOMA … « … eco, art and travel: a modern mom's blog …

  7. Pingback: Creative cupcakes ideas … « … eco, art and travel: a modern mom's blog …

  8. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an really long comment but
    after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m
    not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say superb blog!

Leave a Reply

