Dripping with circles …

I love the simplicity, white space and subtle hints of color of this art piece, which hangs above the window in my dining room.

Originally the colors in the background were bright and primary, but after a good night’s sleep about two months ago, I realized it looked too much like Kai’s playroom. So, I painted over it and started again. This time, I mixed silver and white paint to the primary colors to give them a cooler tone, which I prefer in most of my paintings. I then saturated some navy blue paint with water and squeezed the little brush onto the canvas. With some fancy maneuvers of tapping the canvas onto the ground and tilting the piece around, I guided the water-paint downward. When the drips dried, I added the thick silver circles randomly over the colors and drips. Alex thought the piece was more interesting upside down with the paradoxically drips flowing upward. I agreed.

7 responses to “Dripping with circles …

  1. Pingback: Color splash … « … welcome to my world …

  2. Pingback: Chakra art project … « … eco, art and travel: a modern mom's blog …

  3. Pingback: Wedding present art + an Etch A Sketch drawing … « … eco, art and travel: a modern mom's blog …

  4. Pingback: Monochromatic memories … « … eco, art and travel: a modern mom's blog …

  5. Pingback: Art project: colorful recycled magazine shadowbox art … « … eco, art and travel: a modern mom's blog …

  6. Pingback: Art project: colorful recycled magazine shadowbox art … « … eco, art and travel: a modern mom's blog …

  7. Pingback: Creative cupcakes ideas … « … eco, art and travel: a modern mom's blog …

Leave a Reply

