Give me the dirt …

I know that I worked hard in my garden when my fingerprints and the skin patterns on my hands are accentuated by dirt. I had to scrub diligently with my bar of soap to get all of the soil off each finger and out of each fingernail. Although they were clean, my hands stung slightly for quite sometime afterward from the tight grip I had on the hoe’s wooden handle.

Yesterday, my family had a mission: Prepare our garden (two big beds, each about 15 feet in length) for our spring crops. With only two weeks away until the official start of the new season, I was eager to dig in the dirt. We had such a success last year with our green beans, tomatoes and sunflowers that I wanted a head start so we can yield a larger harvest this year.

After I tilled the soil and reconditioned it with organic compost and manure, we sowed sweet pea and leek seeds. Each of us poked the earth and placed the seeds inside.

At the store, we saw artichoke seeds. It’s one of our fave veggies, so we thought we’d give it a shot. The directions said to start them indoors, so we planted them, plus basil and cilantro seeds, in little starter containers that I covered in plastic wrap to create mini greenhouses. Once the seedlings are established, we’ll place the little plants the ground. Next weekend, I’d like to buy at least three tomatoes plants and yellow and red peppers. I also need to find a special spot for the blackberry bush we bought yesterday. Stay tuned …

4 responses to “Give me the dirt …

  1. Pingback: Hangin’ in the backyard … « … welcome to my world …

  2. Pingback: You say you want a revolution … « … welcome to my world …

  3. Pingback: Inventory of our edible garden … « … eco, art and travel: a modern mom's blog …

  4. Pingback: Colors in my garden: nature’s art … « … eco, art and travel: a modern mom's blog …

Leave a Reply

