Celebrating Pi Day …

It was Pi Day yesterday (March 14 – Get it 3.14159265358979323846 … 22/7? I’m a nerd, what do you expect? Plus it was Einstein’s and my grandpa Bill’s bday). So, in honor of the special day, I made a quiche this weekend.  I know what you’re saying – a quiche isn’t technically a pie (a quiche is savory, while a pie is generally sweet), but in my world it’s close enough and I can honor Pi Day anyway that I want – and I wanted a quiche. I like quiche.

Here’s the recipe for those of you who are so inclined to try it out yourselves. It was rather tasty.

1 (8 oz.) pkg. bacon, diced (I used turkey bacon)
1/4 lb. Swiss cheese, shredded
1 (9 inch) unbaked pie crust
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
4 eggs, lightly beaten
1 1/2 c. half & half (I used fat free milk)
1/2 tsp. salt
I added 1 c. of chopped asparagus and some onion

Cook bacon and drain. Sprinkle cheese and bacon into pie crust. In medium bowl, beat eggs, half and half, salt and nutmeg with fork. Pour into pie crust. Bake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes. Turn oven down to 325 degrees and bake until set (20 minutes or so). Serves 6.

4 responses to “Celebrating Pi Day …

  1. okay, first, I stinking love quiche and I think that’s a perfect way to celebrate pi day. second, Kai looks adorable as ever. third, that looks delicious. and fourth, I miss you guys…never realize it until you’re a 14 hour drive away instead of an hour and half.

  2. Pingback: You say you want a revolution … « … welcome to my world …

  3. Pingback: 3 reasons why raw food is good for you (+ 2 raw food recipes) … « … welcome to my world …

  4. Pingback: A yummy honey and pecan popcorn recipe « … eco, art and travel: a modern mom's blog …

Leave a Reply

