Beware of el chupacabra …

Travel log: December 2005, El Yunque National Rainforest, Puerto Rico

As a hardcore nature lover, especially back then, it was my ultimate dream to explore a rainforest. However, I was newly pregnant, totally nauseas and unfortunately wasn’t up for a long hike in woods. Maybe it was meant to be – the legendary Chupacabra would have probably eaten Alex and me.

Although we didn’t venture deep into the forest, we did slowly ascend the spiraling 98 steps of the forest’s stone Yokahu Tower, which gave us a 360-degree view of the thick jungle, mountainous landscape and the distant coastline below. As I climbed, I breathed in the fresh, moist air and was temporarily and thankfully eased of my queasiness. www.fs.fed.us/r8/caribbean

2 responses to “Beware of el chupacabra …

  1. Pingback: 10 reasons why I love Washington D.C. … « … welcome to my world …

  2. Pingback: Our Costa Rica adventure, part uno … « … eco, art and travel: a modern mom's blog …

Leave a Reply

