10 tips to Feng Shui your bedroom …

feng shui  [fuhng shwey]
the Chinese art or practice of creating harmonious surroundings that enhance the balance of yin and yang, as in arranging furniture or determining the siting of a house.

While designing Alex’s and my bedroom, I was very conscious of the positioning of the furniture and other elements within the room so the energy flows properly throughout the space. Our bedrooms are where we rest, regenerate and retreat, so it makes sense that this is where I focused a lot of my attention in applying Feng Shui principles.

Here are some of the techniques I used while planning our bedroom:

1. Peaceful and serene colors: I chose light blues, whites, tans and browns.
2. Inspiring and meaningful art: Alex and I painted the artwork that hangs on the walls. Two of them are replicas of ones that we’ve seen in our travels. The one above the bed is an original that I painted one evening in less than an hour.
3. Symmetry: I created symmetry by placing a nightstand on each side of the bed.
4. Furniture placement: Following Feng Shui techniques, I positioned the headboard to the east side of the room, which allows the sun to rise at the top of our heads. Also, the headboard should be against a solid wall giving the sense of security. Idyllically (and fortunately for us), the wall should not connect to the bathroom wall. The foot of the bed should never face the doorway. The theory behind this is that the influx of the energy from the rest of the house will pour onto your bed, giving you a restless sleep.
5. Declutter your space: This is something I’m continually and constantly working on.
6. Keep the area under your bed clear: It allows the energy to flow more freely giving you a peaceful sleep.
7. No TV: Not only should you remove it because of the harsh electric energy that radiates from it, but the television is also a distraction from the serene and peaceful space you are creating.
8. Attract love and romance: Display pairs of objects around your room. Alex and I have two crystal bookends on a dresser that my grandparents bought on one of their road trips.
9. Only display photos of people who sleep in the room: I’m very conscious of this technique. I only have photos of Alex and me featured around the room and even in the hallway as you enter our room. I try to keep them in pairs to attract even more love between us.
10. Trust your own judgement: Does it feel peaceful? Does it feel right to you? Can you do anything else to make it even more serene? Ask yourself these questions and do what feels right for you.

My favorite Feng Shui book is called: The Western Guide to Feng Shui: Creating Balance, Harmony, and Prosperity in Your Environment. You can buy it used on Amazon for $.01!!

5 responses to “10 tips to Feng Shui your bedroom …

  1. Great (practical) tips Kelly! I’ll try them out.

  2. jessica spencer

    pretty pretty!

  3. Pingback: So fresh and so clean, clean … « … eco, art and travel: a modern mom's blog …

  4. Pingback: 5 Feng Shui mirror placement tips … « … eco, art and travel: a modern mom's blog …

  5. Pingback: Fun, modern and unique headboards … « … eco, art and travel: a modern mom's blog …

Leave a Reply

