Our edible garden …

WEDNESDAY: NATURAL LIVING

Kelly, Kelly, how does your garden grow?

Well, check out my garden’s inventory and see for yourself …

1. Artichokes – They are still tiny sprouts and have a long way to go.
2. Basil – I have a lot of little plants growing.
3. Blackberries – The plant as some flowers on it. I hope it produces some fruit soon (and that we get it before the birds do).
4. Blueberries – They are almost blue! In the next week or so, I think they’ll be ripe enough to eat. I can’t wait!
5. Broccoli – This veggie’s season is coming to an end. The plants keep producing, but they flower quickly and aren’t as sweet or as full as they were a few months ago. Although, I don’t want the veggie to go to waste, so we nibble on them every time we’re outside.
6. Brussel sprouts – We only have one plant that has produced brussels and they are very small. I think it’s time to harvest them. I love how they grow right on the plants stalk. Maybe we’ll eat them tonight or tomorrow night.
7. Cauliflower – A disappointment. They didn’t produce anything. This is on my Not To Do list for next year.
8. Chamomile – It’s not heat resistant so it’s going to die soon in the next few months. I need to research how to make tea out of it now without the flowers.
9. Chocolate mint – It’s an invasive Florida plant, so I have to keep my eye on it, but it’s spreading out and tastes heavenly.
10. Cilantro – It died. Oh well.
11. Leeks – They just look like thin strands of grass right now. They take a few months to grow nice and big.
12. Peas – These germinated and popped up out of the ground so quickly! I created a structure out of stakes and twine for the vines to attach and grow. They are already flowering, so I think they may produce some peas soon. Kai is really going to dig grazing on these.
13. Peppers – I just planted them on Easter day. They are looking good so far.
14. Tomatoes – We have both cherry and big boys. The cherry tomatoes grow and ripen fast. We collected a huge bowl full the other day. I have to keep reminding Kai though – only pick them when they are red – not orange. His impatience is a struggle for him and sometimes he does it anyway to his great disappointment.

Check out more posts about our garden.
Sowing the seeds

Backyard art

More backyard art

Broccoli mania

One response to “Our edible garden …

  1. Pingback: Colors in my garden: nature’s art … « … eco, art and travel: a modern mom's blog …

Leave a Reply

