Shhh! Deceptively delicious and healthy chocolate chip cookie recipe …

FRIDAY: RANDOM

Last year my mom bought Jessica Seinfield’s (yes, Jerry’s wife) book Deceptively Delicious: Simple Secrets to Get Your Kids Eating Good Food , and it has transformed the way we bake treats in our house.

What’s deceptive about the cookbook is that Seinfield teaches you how to pack in nutrients into your food, without anyone even knowing it. In my family, we don’t have to hide the fact that we’re doing this, but unfortunately some familes won’t touch anything that even hints at something healthy. This approach may be the only way to give some children will receive any vitamins in their food.

How do you do it?

Simple. Add veggie or fruit purees to your ingredients.

Since, I’m a working mom, I don’t have time to puree my own produce. So instead, I buy jars of organic baby food and add them to whatever I’m cooking. It doesn’t have to be just treats. It can be meatballs (sneak in spinach and carrots), quesadillas (avocados) and even pancakes (beets!). Once you start, you’ll be surprised how many different ways you can be deceptive.

So, after work last night, Kai and I made healthy cookies.

To speed up the process, I bought Pamela’s gluten free chocolate chip cookie mix. (Don’t freak out gluten free doesn’t mean gross. I promise!)

Ingredients:
Pamela’s gluten free chocolate chip cookie mix
1 egg
1/2 stick of butter (the recipe calls for a whole stick, but I like to improvise)
1/2 cup of oats (I added this for fun)
1 giant scoop of chucky peanut butter (again for fun) (I sometimes add walnuts instead, but we were out)
1 jar of organic sweet potato baby food (fun)
1 jar of organic mango/banana baby food (and for fun again)

(Try whatever baby food appeals to you. I’ve added carrots and spinach before. Personally, I can’t really even tell anything is in there.)

We mixed it all, placed them on a baking sheet and popped them into the oven for 15 minutes.

They came out hot, gooey and sinfully (a.k.a. healthily) delicious.

Try this at home. I promise, you’ll be surprised on how GREAT it tastes!

Find more of my recipes here:

Tomato Poppers
Two raw food recipes
Honey and pecan popcorn recipe
Homemade ice cream
Fruit leather/fruit roll ups

Plus,
5 Tips on how to help your child eat healthy!

7 responses to “Shhh! Deceptively delicious and healthy chocolate chip cookie recipe …

  1. Yeah, it’s good, very useful, thanks 🙂

  2. These sound yummy!!! I want to try them! 🙂

  3. Pingback: DIY: Make your own fresh cup of juice … « … eco, art and travel: a modern mom's blog …

  4. Pingback: Sneaky Chef’s chocolate banana breakfast ice cream recipe … « … eco, art and travel: a modern mom's blog …

  5. Pingback: A fun way to help your child eat more fruit and veggies … | … eco, art and travel: a modern mom's blog …

Leave a Reply

