3 weird (albeit healthy) foods my husband and son eat …

WEDNESDAY: NATURAL LIVING

Alex is notorious for bringing home super healthy and unfortunately sometimes tasteless foods. I think this is one of the reasons why Kai is such a good eater. He tries everything Alex brings in the house, and most of the time loves it – especially if he sees Alex chowing down on it. Personally, I eat most of the foods too – sprouted bread, brown rice pasta and an exotic variety of seasonal fruits and veggies. But there are some foods that my boys eat that I just can’t. I’ve tried and I can’t.

Here they are:

1. Sardines. I often come home and they are sitting on the couch (of all places!) devouring the little fish. Sometimes they pair them with crackers. Other times, they just eat them straight from the can. Full of omega 3’s, sardines are great for you. But for me, it’s the smell that deters me from eating them.

2. Seaweed. Kai has been snacking on seaweed since he was a baby. I think he likes the saltiness of it. When we’re driving around town running errands, he often sits in his car seat munching on the black ribbon-like sea plants. Loaded with amino acids and omega 3’s, Alex started eating it a few years before Kai was born. Kai has grown up on this stuff and I’m sure he’ll be eating it for the rest of his life. One day, Alex wasn’t paying attention and Kai ate the whole bag. Poor kid was so bloated for the next few days. For me, the seaweed is a bit too salty and fishy tasting.

3. Soy nut butter Kai and Alex love to pair soy nut butter with apples. It’s one of their favorite snacks. To me, soy nut butter is flavorless. I prefer good ol’ chucky peanut butter (the natural kind with the oil, of course.)

To help your child eat healthy, read these 5 tips.

One response to “3 weird (albeit healthy) foods my husband and son eat …

  1. Wow, I thought my little ones eat everything…but I don’t know about those items! Awesome! Thanks for stopping by my blog the other day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

