Monochromatic memories …

Before Kai was born, Alex and I traveled across the country taking really amazing photographs along the way. For years, the beautiful shots were tucked hidden in our computer for no one to see. For the most part, we would have never displayed these photos in our home because taken out of context they seem so random and sometimes insignificant, yet they’re stunning, inspiring and remind us of our adventures.

And then it happened, I figured out how to showcase our photography in a fun and artsy way.

First, I sifted through our backup hard drives for all the blue and green toned shots. Then I had the photos printed with a thin white border. I thought this helped make the individual snapshots pop more, plus giving them all a unifying thread.

When the photos arrived, I sorted them by color (the blue photos for one collage and the green for another) and laid them out making sure the photos didn’t clash beside to each other. Then I painstakingly measured, punched eight holes in most of the blue photos (except for ones on the edges) and with the help of needle nosed pliers laced little wire circles through the holes to give it an interesting industrial and textured look. This was tough and took forever because the circles kept falling off.

For the green collage, I decided to go easy on myself. Instead of fastening them with the metal circles, I just taped them all together on the back.

I love these collages and can stare at them for hours. I hope you like them too.

Check out more of my art:
Wedding present art
Chakra art
Anthropologie-esque art
Tree art
Dripping with circles
Modern seashell art

Check out more of my art:
Wedding present art
Chakra art
Anthropologie-esque art
Tree art
Dripping with circles
Modern seashell art

3 responses to “Monochromatic memories …

  1. jessica spencer

    what a great idea! love them….

  2. Very cool! Thanks for sharing the link!

Leave a comment